Fisker Buzz Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
479 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm no automotive engineer, nor do I play one on TV, but there is something I just don't understand about the Karma's acceleration.

With more torque than the LaFerrari and the Bugatti Veyron why isn't the Karma a <4s car to 60 mph? At a minimum, it should thrash the Model S on acceleration stats.

I know that weight has a ton (pun intended) to do with it but come on, the Karma only weighs 2 linebackers more than a Model S and its 0-60 time is ~4s.

Is it all about the gear ratio of that single speed transmission then?

OR, did Fisker just purposely water down what the car can deliver to extend the life of the drivetrain?

·
Registered
1,171 Posts
Without going into too much detail, it's all about extending the life of the battery...at least from what I understood.

·
Super Moderator
1,183 Posts
I'm no automotive engineer, nor do I play one on TV, but there is something I just don't understand about the Karma's acceleration.

With more torque than the LaFerrari and the Bugatti Veyron why isn't the Karma a <4s car to 60 mph? At a minimum, it should thrash the Model S on acceleration stats.

I know that weight has a ton (pun intended) to do with it but come on, the Karma only weighs 2 linebackers more than a Model S and its 0-60 time is ~4s.

Is it all about the gear ratio of that single speed transmission then?

OR, did Fisker just purposely water down what the car can deliver to extend the life of the drivetrain?
As I understand it, it's primarily due to the fixed gear ratio. With the single gearing driving the Karma is like always being in 4th gear. It's a compromise between initial acceleration and top-end speed. Even Henrik has suggested that a multi-speed gearbox would dramatically improve off-the-line performance. Apparently this is hard to do; Tesla had big problems with their first-gen roaster gearbox and gave up, going back to a single gearing.