Fisker Buzz Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys do you if the government has tax incentives or discount for installing a level 2 charger for our home?

·
Super Moderator
1,183 Posts
Do keep in mind that the way the federal Charging credit rule is written you may not be able to claim it. I'm no tax lawyer, but as I understand it, the credit can't reduce your tax burden lower than the independently calculated Alternate Minimum Tax. Even if you don't end up paying the AMT what I found (and most others found) is that the credit is unobtainable for many filers.

See the following for more details:
http://aecn.timehorse.com/2011/02/evse-tax-credit-aka-alternative-fuel.html

·
Registered
146 Posts
I am a Tax Accountant. The tax credit for the Fisker Karma is $7,500 for the vehicle and the smaller of 30% of the cost to install the equipment include installation, taxes and labor. The credit is non-refundable, meaning it can only be used to offset any taxes you owe. For example: if after completing your tax return you have a balance due of $6,000 the $1,500 of the $7,500 tax credit cannot be used nor can the other credit be used for the equipment installation because you don't have any tax liability.

Samuel

·
Super Moderator
1,183 Posts
Samuel, I'm not entirely sure that's how it's being applied. The $7500 vehicle credit hasn't seen much controversy, and it will reduce your tax burden beyond $0 (or increase your refund). The AMT calculation doesn't come into play.

The Charging Equipment credit however is subject to AMT limitations and is non-refundable. I tried in both TY2011 and TY2012 to claim the charging credit and was thwarted both times.

I haven't heard of any Fisker owner not able to take advantage of the federal vehicle credit, and I haven't heard of any owners who *were* able to take advantage of the federal Charging Equipment credit.