Fisker Buzz Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On this holiday weekend I thought I'd put up a thread that talks to why I bought my Fisker and why I think this is paving the way to a Brave New World.

I used to be a hedge fund manager and can say that I had no down year and averaged 20%+ returns each year for 15 years. ****, those were the days... I wouldn't be able to get those types of returns managing more than the $100M I did but in part that is why I left the industry back in 2006. The market was going crazy and investors were walking UP the risk curve without getting commensurate returns. Hedge funds went from managing mostly principal capital to an asset gathering business where the Administration fee of 2% was seen as a growing revenue line. (don't get me started on this... I'm going to stop myself before I start going off on a tangent of how I think the biggest thieves in the market weren't Wall Street execs, but were the Fund of Funds and Credit Rating Agencies)

Anyways, it was around this time that I started to witness the largest arbitrage in human history ... no word of a lie, it's the truth and it continues today. It is the $/energy differential between the world's 2 superfuels, natgas and oil. If you look at natgas prices in the US, you're basically looking at an energy equivalent cost of $20/barrel of oil. So, how can this exist? Well for the longest time, the use of natgas and oil weren't fungible so you couldn't replace one without the other but in a few paragraphs you'll see the link and see that all of this will change in the next decade.